## SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING – ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION Meeting Minutes May 30, 2024

Present Members, Chair Pauline Proch, Vice Chair Laura Gallagher Byrne, Esmeralda Martinez, Shantaw Bloise-Murphy, Superintendent Elizabeth Hallett, and School Committee Clerk Katie Bedell. This meeting is an in-person participation meeting in compliance with Governor Charlie Baker's statement allowing public bodies the ability to hold a meeting at a physical location that is open to the public, without requiring to provide alternative means of remote access.

The May 30, 2024, School Committee meeting was called to order in regular session at 12:16 PM at the Nantucket Public School Central Office by Chair Pauline Proch with a motion made to approve the agenda by Esmeralda Martinez, seconded by Shantaw Bloise-Murphy and approved unanimously. A motion was made by Chair Proch and seconded by Mrs. Gallagher Byrne to enter into an Organizational Session to discuss the reorganization of the School Committee. The motion was unanimously approved, and the Superintendent was present for the nomination process. Superintendent Hallett welcomed the committee members and acknowledged Laura Gallagher Byrne and Esmeralda Martinez as the winners of the open seats.

Pauline Proch started by asking if there were any nominations for the Chair position, Laura Gallagher Byrne then nominated Pauline Proch as the Chair for 2024-2025, seconded by Esmeralda Martinez, and carried by a roll call. Chair Proch continued running the meeting and made a motion for Laura Gallagher Byrne as Vice Chair for 2024-2025, which was seconded by Esmeralda Martinez and approved through roll call. The role of the Secretary was discussed and Chair Proch nominated Shantaw Bloise-Murphy, seconded by Vice Chair Gallagher Byrne, and carried by a roll call.

The committee then moved to review the Sub-Committee and Task Force list. See below.

NPS SCHOOL COMMITTEE STANDING SUB-COMMITTEES	
<b>Sub-Committee</b>	School Committee Representatives
Negotiations ( <u>Teacher</u> )	Not active this year
Negotiations (Teacher Assistant)	Not active this year
Negotiations (ESP)	Laura Gallagher Byrne & Esmeralda Martinez
Negotiations (Custodians/Grounds)	Tim Lepore & Shantaw Bloise-Murphy
Policies	Laura Gallagher Byrne & Shantaw Bloise-Murphy
Scholarship	Pauline Proch & Laura Gallagher Byrne
Sick Bank	Esmeralda Martinez
Transfers and Invoices	Pauline Proch, Esmeralda Martinez, & Shantaw
	Bloise-Murphy

NPS SCHOOL COMMITTEE		
Work Group or Task Force	School Committee Liaison	
Ad Hoc Budget Advisory Committee	Pauline Proch & Laura Gallagher Byrne	
Cape Cod Collaborative	Laura Gallagher Byrne & Esmeralda Martinez (alternate)	

Communications/Public Relations	Esmeralda Martinez & Shantaw Bloise-Murphy
Nantucket Educational Trust	Tim Lepore & Laura Gallagher Byrne, & Shantaw
	Bloise-Murphy
Superintendent's Safety and Security Committee	Esmeralda Martinez
Student Support Services	Pauline Proch & Laura Gallagher Byrne
Strategic Planning	All Members
Legislative Representative	Laura Gallagher Byrne
Diversity Task Force	Esmeralda Martinez & Shantaw Bloise-Murphy
Food Services Advisory Committee	Esmeralda Martinez & Laura Gallagher Byrne

Motion to adjourn at 12:36 PM was made by Laura Gallagher Byrne and seconded by Esmerelda Martnez, it was unanimous by roll call vote, and the Organizational Session was adjourned

Respectfully submitted,

Katie Bedell School Committee Clerk